When did Leicester win the Premier League ? When did Leicester win the Premier League title?

When did leicester win the premier league ? Leicester City etched their name in sports history when they became the most improbable Premier League champion of the English top-flight’s modern era.

Just a few years ago, the Foxes became an overnight global sensation by coming out of nowhere to make a title run. They were Premier League title long shots in the preseason, having finished 14th the season prior, only their second back in the top division after a spell in the lower tiers.

Yet then-manager Claudio Ranieri, captain Wes Morgan, prolific striker Jamie Vardy, and the rest of the Foxes produced a season to remember, and cemented their place as one of the greatest underdog stories in football history.

However, the final day of the 2022/23 season delivered the shock of Premier League relegation for the Foxes, as they joined Leeds United and Southampton in the bottom three.

The Sporting News brings you all you need to know about that magical season, plus where that famous group of players are now.

Leicester City Premier League title season

Leicester City shocked the football world to win the Premier League title in the 2015/16 season. Led by manager Claudio Ranieri, they finished 10 points clear of the pack, with 81 points compared to the 71 of second-place Arsenal.

Bookmakers had the Foxes at 5000/1 odds to win the league prior to the start of the season, underpinning just how improbable the championship season was.

Additionally, Jamie Vardy set a Premier League record for consecutive league games with a goal with 11 straight, while his teammate Riyad Mahrez became the first African international to win the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year award.

See also  How many fans does man city have ? Do Man United or Man City have more fans in Manchester?

when did leicester win the premier league

Leicester City squad 2015/16

Goalkeepers: Kasper Schmeichel, Mark Schwarzer, Jonny Maddison

Defenders: Wes Morgan, Robert Huth, Christian Fuchs, Danny Simpson, Ritchie De Laet, Marcin Wasilewski, Daniel Amartey, Yohan Benalouane

Midfielders: Danny Drinkwater, Marc Albrighton, N’Golo Kante, Shinji Okazaki, Jeffrey Schlupp, Andy King, Gokhan Inler, Demarai Gray, Nathan Dyer, Joe Dodoo

Forwards: Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez, Leonardo Ulloa, Andrej Kramaric

Notable Leicester City results in 2015/16 season

Interestingly, Leicester City didn’t have that many earth-shattering, signature wins in the 2015/16 season. Instead, they were the most consistent club in a season during which many of the top teams continued to falter.

In fact, Leicester City lost both matches against second-place Arsenal, and they also fell to defeat to Liverpool on Boxing Day. Those would be their only three losses, however, as they managed to secure draws with many top clubs and then beat up on the other teams throughout the table.

Following a 1-1 draw with Manchester United on May 1, the title was mathematically clinched the following day when Tottenham dropped points in a draw with Chelsea.

What happened to Leicester City after winning EPL title?

No matter how improbable the title chase was, it was even more unlikely that Leicester City would be able to remain a force in the Premier League. It was always going to be a struggle for Leicester City to parlay their magical season into becoming a serial contender.

A big reason for their sudden success was their ability to hit it big with multiple player acquisitions, such as N’Golo Kante, Riyad Mahrez, and Christian Fuchs, and their departures to bigger clubs, or eventual regression, would be unavoidable.

See also  Who owns Liverpool ? Who owns Liverpool FC? A closer look at John Henry's Fenway Sports Group

The result has been a slow, but expected decline since the dizzying heights of 2016.

In the seasons that followed, Leicester City have finished in the top half of the table in all but one season, with clear signs of an eventual drop-off before being relegated.

Where are the Leicester City title winners now?

Most of the players from that 2015/16 title-winning Leicester City squad are no longer with the team.

In fact, only two players still remain with the club in 2023: striker Jamie Vardy and defender Daniel Amartey, both of whom are still earning significant minutes. Marc Albrighton is also technically still with Leicester City, although he is currently out on loan at Championship side West Brom.

In the aftermath of the title-winning season, midfielder N’Golo Kante was the first to make a big-money move, leaving immediately that summer for Chelsea, where he grew into a key player and would win multiple trophies, although injuries have hampered him. Fellow midfielder Danny Drinkwater would follow Kante to Chelsea a year later, making an infamous big-money move in 2017 that failed spectacularly.

The player to earn the club the most money would be Riyad Mahrez, whose move to Manchester City in 2018 would net the Foxes a massive €67.8 million transfer fee.

Goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel stuck around for quite a while until his eventual departure for French club Nice, and both captain Wes Morgan and defender Robert Huth would retire at the end of their time with Leicester City.

Left-back Christian Fuchs eventually became the first player to join new MLS club Charlotte FC, and after captaining the American club through its first-ever season, he retired and joined their coaching staff.

See also  How many teams are in the major league baseball playoffs? How many games in the MLB playoffs? Explaining baseball postseason format from wild card to World Series

Manager Claudio Ranieri also moved on, leaving the club in 2017 and bouncing around Europe, currently with Serie B side Cagliari after stints with Nantes, Fulham, Roma, Sampdoria, and Watford.

when did leicester win the premier league

How Leicester City’s 5,000-1 Premier League fairytale turned into a nightmare

“If you look at the odds, 5,000-1 — it’s like finding Elvis alive!” Christian Fuchs says, laughing. “Do you think that would be a big story if they found him for real? It would be like the eighth wonder of the world!

“So Leicester fucking City, based on who we were, who the players were, what our background was, that most of us were not wanted any more at our previous clubs… it has to be the greatest (sporting) fairytale.”

Fuchs has been reminiscing — chuckling one minute and getting emotional the next. He has been talking about triumph and tragedy, about the joy of winning the 2015-16 Premier League title in the most unlikely circumstances and about a day so dark he has tried to erase it from his mind.

More than anything, Fuchs has been talking about Leicester, about what he describes as “a rollercoaster ride” playing for them and about a Premier League story like no other.

At the King Power Stadium on Sunday, the most extraordinary chapter in the club’s history — maybe in any Premier League team’s history — came to an end. After nine tumultuous years in English football’s top flight, Leicester were relegated to the Championship with Leeds United and Southampton.

To try to make sense of their remarkable journey (and it’s a journey that makes no sense at all in places), The Athletic has spoken to key figures who were on the inside at Leicester across that period as well as recalling our own experiences of reporting on a club that turned the Premier League upside down.

Above is information when did leicester win the premier league.  Hopefully, through the above content, you have a more detailed understanding of when did leicester win the premier league .Thank you for reading our post.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *