Who Won the Soccer World Cup 2022 ? FIFA 2022 World Cup History

Who won the soccer world cup 2022 ? Argentina are the world champions. From the moment Lionel Messi put the Copa America holders ahead in the 23rd minute of the 2022 FIFA World Cup final against France, Lionel Scaloni’s side looked determined to deny the reigning champions as they survived a late comeback and penalties to storm to a stylish triumph in the first ever winter tournament in Qatar.

Captain Messi will take many of the headlines, scoring twice to win the World Cup for the first time and very possibly saving the best of an extravagantly brilliant career for last in a showpiece he had hinted could be his international swansong.

The seven-time Ballon d’Or winner had often struggled – by his stratospheric standards – to reach his best at the World Cup. This time, at 35, he became the first player to score in every round of a single tournament in the modern World Cup format, leading the way to a glory long-pursued in his extraordinary career.

Here’s a look at what happened in the final, who scored and what was said, as well as some of the highlights.

Who Won the Soccer World Cup 2022 ? FIFA 2022 World Cup History

FIFA 2022 World Cup final score, result

Argentina beat France on penalties in the final at the Lusail Iconic Stadium to ensure they would not have to wait at least 40 years for a third World Cup title, triumphing for the first time since 1986.

Les Bleus had looked imperious at times on their way to the final but were well off their best for much of normal time – perhaps because of a flu outbreak that had swept through their camp in the days beforehand, but compounded by their opponents’ composed dominance.

See also  Who owns the Etihad Stadium ? Does Manchester City own their stadium?

Kylian Mbappe has established himself as Messi’s pretender to become the finest striker in the game. With 10 minutes to go, Messi’s Paris Saint-Germain teammate scored twice in two minutes to rescue his side from the brink in scarcely believable fashion, levelling the match at 2-2.

With penalties looming, Messi found the answer Argentina so badly wanted. The talisman completed a slick move, with France’s appeals failing as they desperately tried to claim his finish had not crossed the line, yet still it was not enough to see off France.

Mbappe completed his hat-trick with a ruthless penalty two minutes from time, only to see his team fail from the spot twice as they surrendered their trophy by the narrowest of margins.

FIFA World Cup Previous Winners List

FIFA organizes the Football World Cup all across the globe. The senior male national teams of FIFA’s members compete in it. Since the 1930 inauguration of the FIFA competition, it has taken place every four years.

Because of the Second World War, It was avoided in 1942 and 1946. The 2018 FIFA World Cup final was held in Russia, where France defeated Croatia to win the championship. The FIFA World Cup will be held in Qatar in 2022. This page covers the champions and runners-up as well as all the FIFA World Cup hosts from 1991 to 2022.

FIFA World Cup from 1930-2022

FIFA World Cup Winners List: FIFA was established as an outcome of the increase in international competitions immediately after the turn of the 20th century.

Leaders of football in Europe felt that a governing body was necessary because of the growing rivalry, thus the seven founding members gathered in Paris under the leadership of French journalist Robert Guerin to discuss the game’s future. Guerin served as FIFA’s first president from 1904 to 1906. FIFA was presided over by Jules Rimet and seven other persons for 33 years, from 1921 to 1954.

See also  When did harry Maguire join Manchester United ? Harry Maguire, Manchester United Agree to 6-Year Contract in Leicester Transfer

List of FIFA World Cup Winners from 1930-2022

Argentina, the current holders of the FIFA World Cup, claimed victory in the 2022 tournament held in Qatar. The historic event marked the first time the World Cup was organized during the winter months to provide respite from the extreme summer temperatures in Qatar. Additionally, it was the inaugural instance of the tournament taking place amidst the ongoing club football season.

FIFA World Cup Winners List in Order

While the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, the first to be held in the Middle East, is currently in progress, let’s take a quick look back at the World Cup’s history.

FIFA’s website states that the first World Cup competition was held in Montevideo, Uruguay’s capital, in 1930, 92 years ago. The four teams in the first competition that allegedly played in an “unfinished stadium” were Argentina, Uruguay, the United States of America, and Yugoslavia.

Uruguay won the 1930 FIFA World Cup Men’s competition after defeating Argentina, taking first place on the list of tournament champions in the process. In its nearly 100-year history, just eight teams have won the FIFA World Cup. In its nearly one-hundred-year history, just eight teams have won the FIFA World Cup. Brazil has won five tournaments, followed by Italy with four and Germany with three. Here is a list of every FIFA World Cup winners from 1930 until 2022, listed in order.

FIFA World Cup Winners


What a great match! Undoubtedly, it was one of the best finals ever. But in the end Argentina defeated France by 4-2 in penalty shootout after the match drawn 3-3 in the normal time to win FIFA World Cup 2022 title.

Kylian Mbappe from France was the top goal scorer in FIFA World Cup 2022, he scored 7 goals. France forward Kylian Mbappe became the first footballer to score a hat-trick in a FIFA World Cup final since the 1966 edition when England’s Geoff Hurst netted a hat-trick against West Germany. Mbappe scored in the 80th, 81st and 118th minutes to net a hat-trick against Argentina in the 2022 FIFA World Cup final.

See also  What is a Sack in Football ? Explained


Brazil is the first nation to win the FIFA World Cup on four different continents, joining Spain, Germany, and Argentina as other nations to do so. Brazil has won five trophies, making it the most successful national team in FIFA World Cup history (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002). Brazil has been the only country’s team to have participated in every FIFA World Cup without missing any.


Italy defeated France 5-3 on penalties in the 2006 FIFA World Cup final in Berlin after the score remained tied at 1-1 following 90 minutes of ordinary play and 30 minutes of overtime. The 2006 FIFA World Cup was place in Germany. The infamous headbutt by Zinedine Zidane on Matteo Materazzi during the final, which led to the French star receiving the axe, will go down in history. Italy finished fourth overall.


Uruguay defeated Argentina 4-2, winning the first FIFA football world cup. This world cup’s host country was Uruguay. The majority of the matches were played in the Estadio Centenario in Montevideo, the capital city of Uruguay.

who won the soccer world cup 2022

FIFA World Cup Winners List Women’s:

The International Olympic Committee oversees the men’s and women’s Olympic football tournaments, which are managed by FIFA. These tournaments are held every four years. The FIFA Confederations Cup, a competition involving the winners of each of its confederations, and the FIFA Club World Cup have also been hosted by FIFA. The FIFA Club World Cup was first held in Brazil at the beginning of 2000.

A number of the events that are held by FIFA include the FIFA World Cup, Women’s World Cup, Under-20 World Cup, Under-20 Women’s World Cup, Under-17 World Cup, Under-17 Women’s World Cup, FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, and Futsal World Cup.

Above is information who won the soccer world cup 2022.  Hopefully, through the above content, you have a more detailed understanding of who won the soccer world cup 2022 .Thank you for reading our post.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *