How many Premier League has Liverpool Won ? How many times have Liverpool won the Premier League?

How many premier league has liverpool won ? The dominant force of European football in the 1970s and following decade, Liverpool’s trophy haul was massively bolstered in this period.

Since the inception of the Premier League in 1992, Liverpool have had to watch other teams dominate but under recent times with Jurgen Klopp in charge, the trophies have been won more frequently.

Liverpool’s last trophy was the 2022/2023 Community Shield.

Here is a list of all the titles that Liverpool have won since they were formed in 1892.

How many times have Liverpool FC won the Premier League?

Since the Premier League began in 1992, seven clubs have won the title. The most dominant team in Premier League history is Manchester United, who haven’t won the league title since 2013. Between 1992 and 2013, United lifted the trophy on 13 occasions under former manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

Chelsea had their impressive spell under Jose Mourinho, too. The Portuguese arrived at the London club as the ‘Special One’ in 2004 after lifting the Champions League with Porto and brought immediate success to Stamford Bridge. In 2004/05, Mourinho helped guide Chelsea to the title after the club spent big on players like Didier Drogba.

In the 1994/95 season, Blackburn Rovers, inspired by Alan Shearer, finished top of the table, edging past Manchester United by three points to become champions of England. Rovers currently find themselves in the Championship, having been relegated from the top flight in 2012.

See also  What Team is Ronaldo on? In which team is Cristiano Ronaldo?

The most remarkable Premier League story happened in 2016 as Claudio Ranieri took massive outsiders Leicester City to Premier League glory for the first time in the club’s history.

how many premier league has liverpool won

How many times has Liverpool won the Premier League?

The majority of Liverpool’s success as a club came in the 1970s and 80s, with domestic and European glory at Anfield. That included 18 top division titles. The Premier League years were a struggle for a club so used to lifting trophies until the arrival of a certain Jürgen Klopp to Merseyside.

The German coach turned the club’s fortunes around with the help of smart recruitment and clever investments. In 2019/20, Klopp lifted his first Premier League title with Liverpool, their only title since the Premier League began in 1992.

Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City have been the dominant side in the league in recent years. City, who take on Liverpool today, have won three titles in the last four years. Their first league title came in 2011/12, as Sergio Agüero scored an unforgettable 94th minute winner against QPR to snatch the title from Manchester United’s hands.

Liverpool challenge City for title

Liverpool and Man City have gone toe-to-toe in recent years. Only one point separates the two sides in terms of Premier League points collected since the start of the 2018/19 season, City having 355 points to Liverpool’s 354.

As things stand, with just the final game of the season remaining, Guardiola’s City have 90 points from 37 games played and Klopp’s team have picked up 89 points. Two truly remarkable teams, but only one can top the league.

See also  How long has Messi played for Argentina ? How many teams has Messi played for? Know them all

How many times have Liverpool won the Premier League?

Liverpool were by far England’s most successful football club in the years before the Premier League era began in 1992, having won 18 titles by 1990.

The Red enjoyed initial success early in the 20th century and immediately after both the First and Second World Wars. But their dominance really came to the fore once Bill Shankly was appointed manager in 1959 and set up a culture of repeated success.

Shankly, who was responsible for implementing Liverpool’s iconic all-red kit, won three league titles himself, before retiring and handing control to assistant Bob Paisley.

Paisley was a product of Shankly’s famous Anfield ‘Boot Room’, where coaches were bred within and continued consistently winning league titles over the course of three decades. After Paisley won six domestic league titles and Liverpool’s first three European Cups, Joe Fagan took over, with Kenny Dalglish later following and delivering the 18th league title in the 1989/90 season.

How many times have Liverpool won the Premier League?

For all of their dominance in the 1970s and 1980s, Liverpool have famously only won one Premier League title since the breakaway competition was launched in 1992. However, they have come agonisingly close to glory on a number of other occasions.

After their last pre-Premier League title in 1989/90, the Reds finally ended what became a 30-year drought in the 2019/20 season when they ran away from the competition.

Liverpool remarkably won 26 of their first 27 games to leave the challengers in their dust. Even with a late wobble during ‘Project Restart’ following the three-month Covid-19 hiatus, the hard work was already done and Jurgen Klopp’s side finished 18 points clear of Manchester City.

See also  What is Relegation in the Premier League ?

Liverpool have had plenty of near misses in the Premier League as well. They finished second behind Arsenal in 2001/02 and again behind Manchester United in 2008/09.

Only a late collapse against Chelsea and Crystal Palace cost them the 2013/14 title, while they have twice finished just a single point behind Manchester City – in 2018/19 and 2021/22 – with points tallies that would have resulted in emphatic title wins in most other seasons.

how many premier league has liverpool won

How many trophies have Liverpool won? A complete list of all major silverware in the Reds trophy case

Jurgen Klopp’s Liverpool have the chance to add up to three new pieces of silverware during a memorable 2021-22 campaign that at one point saw the club with a chance at an unprecedented quadruple season.

The Reds topped Chelsea in two domestic finals, winning two penalty-kick shootouts to claim both the League Cup final and the FA Cup final.

The two finals between Reds and Blues ended 0-0 after extra time, each requiring kicks from the penalty spot. The Feb. 27 League Cup final shootout required the goalkeepers to take attempts, as Liverpool prevailed 11-10.

The FA Cup final on May 14 saw Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson Becker make a stop and Konstantinos Tsimikas follow up with the winning shot as Liverpool added a second trophy, 6-5 on penalties.

Next up is the 2022 Champions League final on May 28 against Real Madrid in Saint-Denis, France. A seventh triumph on Europe’s grandest stage would give Liverpool the second most titles in the competition’s history, only behind the Madridistas (13).

As the Merseyside giants hope to clear space in the trophy cabinet once again, The Sporting News looks at how they have fared in major competitions throughout their history.

Above is information how many premier league has liverpool won.   Hopefully, through the above content, you have a more detailed understanding of how many premier league has liverpool won .Thank you for reading our post.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *