How many Premier League has manchester United Won ? When did Man Utd last win the Premier League?

How many premier league has manchester united won ? Since the Premier League was formed for the 1992-93 season, it has grown into the world’s most popular league – but who has won it most?

The 2021-22 Premier League season was the 29th since 22 clubs broke away from the Football League to set up their own competition at the end of the 1991-92 campaign.

It has proven to be a commercial success, turning into a money-making behemoth that attracts record television revenue and, in many ways, is the envy of the sport across the world.

Now dominated by a familiar ‘Big Six’ – Manchester City, Manchester United, Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea and Tottenham – it has not always been that way.

How many teams have won the Premier League?

In total, seven clubs have won the Premier League title: Manchester United, Chelsea, Manchester City, Arsenal, Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City and Liverpool.

Among the traditional ‘Big Six’, only Tottenham have failed to win a single league title during the Premier League era.

how many premier league has manchester united won

Full list of Premier League winners

When the Premier League was formed, the landscape was very different, with Leeds United the last winners of the old First Division. They now find themselves one of many clubs who have tasted top-flight football in the Premier League only to be playing outside of the division now.

Indeed, the 1992-93 season heralded the true rebirth of Manchester United under the guidance of Sir Alex Ferguson, as they picked up their first title in 26 years, with the remainder of the top five comprising of Aston Villa, Norwich, Blackburn and QPR.

See also  How long has Mbappe been Playing Soccer ? Kylian Mbappé: Ligue 1 Player Watch

It would be the first of 13 Premier League crowns – a record tally.

United would go on to win four of the first five Premier League titles, with their sequence interrupted by big-spending Blackburn Rovers in the 1994-95 season.

The Red Devils’ long-time rivals Liverpool may be one of the most successful teams in England with 18 league titles, but were mocked by United fans for not managing to win the Premier League. That changed in 2019-20 though, when Jurgen Klopp’s team were crowned Premier League champions for the first time.

Arsenal became the third different club to lift the Premier League trophy, with Arsene Wenger’s revolution leading them to success in the 1997-98 campaign, beginning a lengthy rivalry with the Red Devils as they sparred over the next seven years for supremacy.

Roman Abramovich’s takeover at Chelsea in 2003 sparked a fresh era of previously unprecedented spending as the Russian poured money into the Stamford Bridge side and was rewarded with the 2004-05 title.

Manchester City were the next club along to break the established order as they, too, enjoyed the benefits of a takeover, with the Etihad club picking up their first Premier League title in 2011-12.

The only constant in terms of success were United until Ferguson retired after winning the title in 2013, after which they dropped away.

The void has been filled with nouveau riche Chelsea and Manchester City, who, between them, won nine titles out of 12 between 2010-11 to 2022-23.

How many trophies have Manchester United won? Complete list of silverware in the Red Devils’ trophy case

A six-year trophy drought was the longest at Manchester United since 1977/83, but that run came to an end with the 2023 Carabao Cup title, Erik ten Hag’s first title in charge of the club.

For a side as decorated as the Red Devils, it was a strange feeling going so long without winning a competition and earning silverware, but that changed at Wembley in February as the club reset the clock and lifted the trophy, giving a positive feel around Ten Hag’s revival.

See also  How much is Ronaldo Getting paid ? Ronaldo becomes world’s best-paid athlete after Saudi move

Although United haven’t won the Premier League title since the departure of the legendary Sir Alex Ferguson in 2013, the Red Devils have an extremely rich history with regards to winning silverware. United have won the league on 20 occasions, which is more than any other English side.

In addition, they have experienced glory on the European stage and in 1999 they became the first and so far only English side to win the treble of the Premier League, the FA Cup and the Champions League.

Every trophy won by Manchester United

Manchester United is a club like no other. While this has been a lean period in recent years, United’s record of winning silverware stands up among the very best, and now with the Carabao Cup in 2023, the club are back to lifting trophies.

In case you ever needed reminding of exactly how successful Manchester United have been through the years, we have taken the time to run through every single trophy ever won by the Red Devils…

how many premier league has manchester united won

Man Utd after Sir Alex Ferguson – a title-free zone

Man Utd have failed to win the Premier League since Ferguson left his role in charge in 2013. Their best finish since he departed is second under Jose Mourinho in the 2017/18 season and then under Ole Gunnar Solskjaer in the 2020/21 season.

In the first season after Ferguson left, David Moyes was in charge for the majority of the season before being sacked before the end of the campaign. Ryan Giggs took charge for the final few games and the Red Devils finished down in seventh place. They accumulated 25 less points than in the season prior.

See also  How many Players did Chelsea sign this Season ? All completed Chelsea transfers in 2023-24 - listed

Louis van Gaal was then appointed ahead of the 2014/15 campaign and guided Man Utd to fourth place and a return to Champions League football. Van Gaal was unable to repeat the trick in the Premier League in 2015/16, with Man Utd finishing in fifth place. The FA Cup he won was merely a consolation prize for losing his job at the end of the season.

The Dutchman was replaced by Mourinho in the summer of 2016 and finished sixth in his first season in charge at Old Trafford. He did however win the Europa League, the League Cup and the Community Shield.

The following year, Mourinho achieved more success in the league, guiding the Red Devils to second place, behind only Manchester City. They were 19 points behind their city rivals, but held off the likes of Tottenham Hotspur, Liverpool and Chelsea to finish second.

Mourinho began the 2018/19 season in charge but was sacked in December after a poor run of form. Solskjaer took over on an interim basis and was handed the role on a full-time basis after a famous Champions League win over Paris Saint-Germain in March 2019. His team finished only sixth in the Premier League though.

Solskjaer then guided them to third place the following year before backing that up with a second-place finish in the 2020/21 campaign, their joint-best ever since Ferguson left the club.

The Norwegian was sacked though in November 2021 and was replaced by Ralf Rangnick on a deal until the end of the 2021-22 season. The former RB Leipzig head coach finished sixth in the top flight before leaving to take up a role as the Austria national team head coach.

Dutchman Erik ten Hag is now in charge and Man Utd are currently in third place in the table in 2022-23. They are five points behind league leaders Arsenal after a 3-0 win over Leicester City on February 19.

Above is information how many premier league has manchester united won.   Hopefully, through the above content, you have a more detailed understanding of how many premier league has manchester united won .Thank you for reading our post.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *