What is the Football bowl Subdivision ? Why Can’t the Football Bowl Subdivision Dump the BCS?

What is the football bowl subdivision ? When the most popular sport in the NCAA is the only one without a playoff, something is wrong. A tournament is the ONLY way to decide a champion in anything, especially athletics.

The Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), formerly known as Division I-A, is the only NCAA division without a tournament to decide the champion. Even the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), formerly called Division I-AA, decides its champion by a tournament.

So why can’t the FBS dump the BCS?


Games like the Rose Bowl and Orange Bowl have so much tradition that it would ruin college football to get rid of them.

This makes about as much sense as Ray Charles being a tour guide. Use these “traditional” bowl games as quarterfinal and semifinal games in a 16-team tournament. Sure, the bowl games wouldn’t mean as much, but I’m willing to give up a bit of tradition to determine a true national champion.


The only reason the BCS is even around is so college presidents, athletic directors, and advertisers can make millions of dollars.

College presidents, athletic directors, and advertisers could make just as much money with a playoff system. Imagine if teams got to play in two bowl games? They would make twice as much money for the program. If money wasn’t a deciding factor, the FBS would have had a playoff many years ago.


Fanbases won’t travel across the country week after week, thus, the games won’t provide sellout crowds and high revenues.

See also  What is Gaelic Football ? A Guide to Gaelic Games in Dublin

However, if the games are scheduled regionally, just like college basketball’s first two rounds of its tournament, fanbases will travel. College football has some of the most loyal fans around; they will travel to support their team.

But the worst part about the BCS is the fact that six computers help decide who the top teams are. Yes, human polls account for two-thirds of the BCS system, but the BCS computers still help decide the top teams in the country using a formula that no one knows. Six computers make up the BCS ranking, each computer using different formulas to decide their respective rankings. Average the six computer rankings and you get the one-third BCS ranking.

What is the football bowl subdivision

Sound confusing? Even the six computers don’t understand the BCS.

Here’s an idea, FBS officials: make a 16-team playoff with the 11 conference winners and five at-large teams. This will give the smaller schools a chance to gain national respect while still giving the most deserving teams a shot at the national title. Even if the BCS formula decided the five at-large teams, it would be better than the flawed system we have today.

In 2003, Oklahoma played in the BCS Championship game after losing their conference championship game to Kansas State. This was when the BCS ranking did not use any human polls and was strictly the six computer rankings. That should have been the last straw for the BCS, but instead they just altered the formula.


However, now it’s time to dump the BCS for good. A college football playoff would do nothing but benefit the sport. Having a tournament is the only way to determine a true national champion. College presidents, athletic directors, and advertisers are too greedy and don’t realize they are killing the sport in the process.

See also  Why is Lionel Messi famous ? 5 reasons why Messi stands out in football world


Each year pundits across the NCAA football landscape debate the validity of various NCAA football teams’ relative worthiness to play for the national championship. Given this debate seems to revolve around which team is the best in terms of total team production, I have developed and statistically estimated a complex invasion NCAA football bowl subdivision production function measuring NCAA football team productivity covering the 2008 to 2017 seasons.

The model estimates both points scored and points surrendered for each team during this time period and then is combined to determine each team’s overall productivity. Finally, as an application of the complex invasion college football production function model, I have ranked the overall productivity of the NCAA football bowl subdivision teams for the 2017 season to find the most productive team. The model concludes that the University of Alabama was the most productive team for the 2017 season.

Detailed Guide to Football Bowl Subdivision
There’s no doubt that college football commands a cult following across the USA. The NCAA college football scene is divided into several divisions. These divisions might be confusing, but we will guide you and show you where your favorite college team belongs.

All college teams are arranged into three divisions. They include divisions I, II, and III. Division I, is further divided into the Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and the Championship Subdivision (FCS).

FBS is the top-most and most competitive division in college football. It consists of 11 conferences, including the Southeastern Conference (SEC), the Atlantic Conference (AAC), Big Ten, Pac 12, Big East, and Big 12. The FBS is where NFL teams’ source for quality players Here’s a breakdown of the well-known conferences.

See also  Who has the most Wins between Chelsea and Manchester United ?

What is the football bowl subdivision

The American Atlantic Conference (AAC)

The AAC features 12 universities from the Southern, Northeastern, and Mideastern regions. These teams include the Cincinnati Bearcats, Tulsa Golden Hurricane, SMU Mustangs, UConn Huskies, UCF Knights, Tulane Green Wave, Navy Midshipmen, East Carolina Pirates, Houston Cougars, Temple Owls, South Florida Bulls, and Navy Midshipmen. The Rivalry is aplenty, especially between Cincinnati and Memphis.

Big Ten Conference

This conference is the oldest in the NCAA and features some of the heavy boys in college football. It features mostly teams from the Midwest. Some of its 14 teams are Wisconsin Badgers, Minnesota Golden Gophers, Michigan Wolverines, Michigan State Spartans, Indiana Hoosiers, Ohio State Buckeyes, Purdue Boilermakers, Northwestern Wildcats, Nebraska Cornhuskers, Iowa Hawkeyes, Illinois Fighting Illini, Rutgers Scarlet Knights, and Penn State Nittany Lions.


Pac-12 is an intercollege athletic conference made up of schools mostly from Western USA. It was formerly referred to as Pac-10, but that changed with the entry of Utah and Colorado.

Other teams represented include Stanford, University of California Berkeley, University of California Los Angeles, Washington State University, University of Washington, University of Oregon, Oregon State University, University of South California, Arizona State University, and the University of Arizona.

Above is information what is the football bowl subdivision.  Hopefully, through the above content, you have a more detailed understanding of  what is the football bowl subdivision .Thank you for reading our post.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *